Emptiness

WOW! THAT LOOKS MUCH BIGGER THAN A JUNE BUG i HAVE EVER SEEN, AND TOO MANY LEGS AND FEELERS

Linda G. Hill

Last week I found this:

It is the empty shell of what I believe is a June Bug. I didn’t even realize they shed their skins, but there you go. [Edit: It’s a cicada.] The thing is, I’ve been contemplating these remains for the past week, and how they  relate to my life.

The fact is, I am full. It would be easy for me to say I need to shed my skin and let out the real me, but that isn’t quite the case. For many months I have felt oppressed by a relationship in which I felt unable to speak my mind. In those months, feelings, thoughts, visions, and opinions have built up which I have repressed, for fear of pissing someone else off. It’s no way to live, especially for a writer who lives to put to paper her every inspiration. It’s difficult to function in every…

View original post 200 more words

Leave a Reply

