Sylvia Plath

i UNDERSTAND, BUT JUST THE OPPOSITE, MY MOTHER’S DEATH REALLY DEVASTATED ME……

Patsy's Creative Corner

Sylvia Plath

I’ve been reading a biography about Sylvia Plath for the past few weeks. I find her life story sad. It seems she was devastated by her father’s death and felt controlled by her mother to a great extent. So I understand the things that drove her to write and try to get her writing published. But honestly, if I had not read her life story, I would never understand her poetry. I still cannot get into her poetry even now. I’ve also tried reading The Bell Jar, but alas, I guess I am just not a fan of her work.

However, I do want to say that I find it very sad that a woman so young took her own life. It seems she was mentally ill, perhaps from early on. I understand feeling that depressed and desperate, though. But to all my artist and writing friends, I just want…

View original post 50 more words

4 thoughts on “Sylvia Plath

  1. Reblogged this on Amanda’s Words / starfire8me and commented:
    i UNDERSTAND, BUT JUST THE OPPOSITE, MY MOTHER’S DEATH REALLY DEVASTATED ME……

    This is what you said when I posted my thoughts about Sylvia Plath. ??
    I was just confused.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

